I wasn't aware of this. They seem to have a personal philosophy around people deleting their own post. Looks like I can manually edit the config file to allow it.
I gotta go tuck in kiddos but here are the notes to myself:
$Configuration['Vanilla']['Comments']['AllowSelfDelete'] = TRUE;
this option was added as of 2.1b2 - if you look at changelogs you can see new features and bug fixes.
number 8 in list here
Yeah, I get the whole "can't delete, once you've posted it" philosophy... It just doesn't help me when I've posted my meme in the wrong thread...